Log in



Serving the Creative Arts Community Since 1974

Artistic License Awards

2022 Honorees 


The Carlin Family

The Chinese Culture Center

Hon. Rafael Mandelman, San Francisco Board of Supervisors

Purpose of the Artistic License Awards Artistic license implies so many ideas: freedom of expression, residual rights and royalties, the daring to be different, to make a difference through innovation and service. In 2008, we conceived of the Artistic License Awards to recognize persons and organizations that have mastered their arts (intended in the broadest possible sense) in extraordinary ways for the communities they serve. This year's honorees are role models for innovation and courageous leadership that have inspired so many others to stretch beyond their "comfort zones" and take on the challenges of our times. 

- Alma Robinson, Executive Director


US Representative Judu Chiu

CA Senator Ben Allen

The Santa Fe Art Colony

Vijay Gupta

2019 - Sacramento

Buck Busfield

Dr. Sheree Meyer 

The Royal Chicano Air Force

Supervisor Phil Serna

Daniel Yamshon

2018 - San Francisco

Senator Loni Hancock

Don K. Harris


Lowenstein Sandler

2017- Santa Monica

Congressman Ted Lieu

Annette Bening

Craig Watson

Self Help Graphics & Art

E. Randol Schoenberg

2016 - Sacramento

California Senator Mark Leno

California Senator Jim Nielsen

The Sacramento Gay Men's Chorus

Marcy Friedman

Art Luna

Ali Youssefi

Ellen Taylor

2015 - San Francisco

San Francisco Supervisor London Breed

Deborah Santana, Do a Little Fund

Steven Hirsch & Katherine Lloyd-Lovett of Keker, Van Nest & Peter, LLP

Dr. Larry Brewster of U. of San Francisco

The William James Association

The Hancock Funds

2014 - Santa Monica

Assembly Speaker Emeritus John A. Pérez

Fish & Richardson, P.C.

The Actors' Gang

2013 - Santa Monica

CA Senator Carol Liu

CA Senator Alan Sieroty (ret.)

Wayne Kramer, Jail Guitar Doors USA

Intel Corporation

Catherine Emmanuel

2012 - Santa Monica

CA Senator Curren D. Price, Jr.

Inner-City Arts

McDermott, Will & Emery


Samuel Hoi, President, Otis College

 2012 - Sacramento

Assemblymember Roger Dickinson

Milton Bowens

Lial Jones

Susan Orr

Jerry Perry

Russell Solomon

2011 - Santa Monica

LA County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas

Malissa Feruzzi Shriver

Jay L. Cooper, Esq.

PEN Center USA

Frank Romero

Cathy Segal-Garcia

2010 - San Francisco

U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi

San Francisco Symphony

Henry Hopkins (in memoriam)

Rhodessa Jones of Cultural Odyssey

Fenwick & West, LLP

2010 - Santa Monica

Robert Graham (in memoriam)

First Lady of CA Maria Shriver

U.S. Representative Diane Watson

Munger, Tolles & Olson, LLP

Elsa Ramo Law

Geffen Playhouse

2009 - Sacramento

California Senate President Darrell Steinberg

Wayne Thiebaud

Charles (Chuck) Miller (in memoriam)

Kim Curry-Evans

Stephen L. Davis, Esq.

2009 - Santa Monica

LA County Supervisor Don Knabe

Danny Glover and Ben Guillory of the Robey Theatre Company

Adolfo V. Nodal

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, LLP

2009 - Sacramento

California Senate President Darrell Steinberg

Wayne Thiebaud

Charles (Chuck) Miller (in memoriam)

Kim Curry-Evans

Stephen L. Davis, Esq.

2008 - Santa Monica

CA Senator Jack Scott

LA County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky

LA City Council Member Jan Perry

Rose Marie Cano of Plaza de la Raza

Greenberg Glusker

Greg Victoroff, Esq.



California Lawyers for the Arts is a tax exempt 501(c)(3) nonprofit and your donation is tax deductible as a charitable contribution to the fullest extent of the law.  State Bar LRS Certificate #0021.

MCLE Provider # 1248.

The information provided on this website is not legal advice. You should consult with an attorney for individual advice regarding your legal matters.

Copyright © 2022. California Lawyers for the Arts. All Rights Reserved. 

Terms of Service

Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software